About Giving Circles

DePaul President A. Gabriel Esteban, Ph.D.

Dear alumni and friends,

I invite you to learn more about the history of the University and many of the talented individuals who have served as president. The President's Club, our annual giving honor society, pays tribute to the vision, accomplishments and foresight of these leaders. I am proud to carry on the tradition of my distinguished predecessors.

A. Gabriel Esteban, Ph.D.

Giving Circles

President's Club members are enrolled in one of eight annual giving circles within the President's Club, each named for a former president of the university:

President's Club Circles

Fr. McCabe Circle
$50,000 and above
Fr. Levan Circle
$25,000 to $49,999
Fr. Corcoran Circle
$10,000 to $24,999
Fr. O'Connell Circle
$5,000 to $9,999
Fr. O'Malley Circle
$2,500 to $4,999
Vincentian Circle
$1,000 to $2,499

Introductory Levels for Recent Graduates

Vincentian Circle
Graduates of the last five years
Graduates of the last 6-10 years

Photo of Very Rev. Francis Xavier McCabe, C.M.
Very Rev. Francis Xavier McCabe, C.M. (1910-1920)

"The Voice of DePaul"
DePaul's third president, McCabe oversaw great expansion and academic innovation, including the establishment of the colleges of music, commerce and law. Underscoring DePaul's Vincentian mission, McCabe began a scholarship fund, which was continued and augmented by the university, making a Catholic university education a reality for thousands.

Photo of Very Rev. Thomas S. Levan, C.M.
Very Rev. Thomas S. Levan, C.M. (1920-1930)

"Progressive Dreamer"
Like his predecessors, Levan, DePaul's fourth president, believed that expansion was the key to the university's future. Under his leadership, DePaul brought education to the people by establishing the downtown "skyscraper campus" at 64 E. Lake St., Chicago, and opening the Liberal Arts and Sciences Building, now the Levan Center, on the Lincoln Park Campus.

Photo of Very Rev. Francis C. Corcoran, C.M.
Very Rev. Francis C. Corcoran, C.M. (1930-1935)

"The Organization Man"
Corcoran, DePaul's fifth president, was the first Chicagoan to lead DePaul. A decisive administrator, he oversaw the standardization of university management methods and policies, as well as the strengthening of academic standards.

Photo of Very Rev. Michael J. O Connell, C.M.
Very Rev. Michael J. O'Connell, C.M. (1935-1944)

"Creative Determination"
O'Connell joined DePaul as a professor of history and classics, subsequently becoming director of Student Activities, vice president, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and finally president. He focused on enhancing student facilities and laying the groundwork for strong community relations in anticipation of the university's 50th anniversary.

Photo of Very Rev. Comerford J. O Malley, C.M. (1944-1963)
Very Rev. Comerford J. O'Malley, C.M. (1944-1963)

"The Long Run"
DePaul's seventh president, O'Malley presided over the an era of great growth with an outgoing and affable manner. The postwar university boomed: Faculty Hall and Alumni Hall were built on the Lincoln Park Campus, and the Lewis Center was donated to the university, replacing 64 E. Lake St., Chicago, as the downtown campus.

Photo of Very Rev. John R. Cortelyou, C.M.
Very Rev. John R. Cortelyou, C.M. (1964-1981)

"The Big Builder"
DePaul's eighth president, Cortelyou led the university during a period of extraordinary advancement. His legacy is now reflected in the giving society that bears his name. The Cortelyou Heritage Society honors individuals who have demonstrated their commitment to DePaul by making an estate or planned gift to the University.